Monday Munchies – Substitutions


20140224-153412.jpg

No that is not my mad scientist. That is his influence on me in the kitchen. Imagine the horror that over took me when I realized that the baking powder that I was using, which had no aluminum in it, had corn starch in it. I knew that it took cream of tarter but what else so off I searched. After looking at several recipes some including arrowroot or tapioca starch which are not really needed here is what I came up with.
baking powder
1 part baking soda + 2 parts cream of tarter or 1T baking soda + 2T cream of tarter

Other substitutions that I use:
wheat flour
Coconut flour and any nut meal.

corn meal
Almond meal

white sugar
Raw sugar, honey, real maple syrup

brown sugar
Raw sugar or coconut sugar

shortening
Butter, ghee, coconut oil

rice
Cauliflower riced.

Have fun experimenting!

Leave a Reply

